Family Adventures

Happy Mother’s Day

This is either the very first time or one of the first times I haven’t been with my mom on Mother’s Day. And I’m not okay with that. So to make up for it, I’ve decided to write her, and several other people in my life who are mothers, a little letter.

Dear Mom,

I hate that I can’t be there with you, but at least it’s much harder to fight with my sisters from this far away! I know we don’t always get along, but I always love you (even when I don’t like you). I’m so lucky to have you as a parent and as a really good friend. No matter how old I get, you’ll always be my Mom with a capital ‘M’. It’s easy to be a simple mom, one who’s there occasionally and will always answer your texts eventually, but it’s much harder to be the kind of Mom you are. You seldom miss a performance (not at all when I lived at home), you always make time to talk even when I don’t have anything to talk about, you remember the song that came before mine in an elementary school recital, you traveled all the way to Europe just to see me for a few days, you support all of my crazy goals while keeping me grounded, and you love me no matter what. We’ve been through a lot together, but I have a feeling some of our best stories are still yet to come. Here’s to summer time Ikea dates, nail appointments, road trip jam sessions, my terrible jokes and ugly faces, Chick-fil-A runs, cups of hot tea, and all those little things we haven’t been able to do for 4 and a half months. So happy Mother’s Day, Mom. I hope you take some time for yourself today because you more than deserve it. I love you and I miss you and I’ll hug you in just 16 days!

Dear Grandma,

Thank you for being such a strong presence in my life. I love that I can call you and talk to you for an hour about nothing in particular. I love that you know me almost too well. I love that you always make sure to make my favorite foods when I’m coming home, even if it means cooking all day. I love that you gave me my obsession with Food Network. I can’t wait to force you to watch more HGTV and to spend countless hours in the kitchen while you teach me how to cook. I miss you so, so much. Thank you for always supporting me, for always going to performances and games, for always encouraging my creativity, for just being you. You make my life so much richer. I would be a less complete person without you around, and I hope you know how much I appreciate you. I can’t wait to hug you either!

Dear Tori and Kim,

Both of my sisters are moms. Now that is wild. Tor, I’ve loved watching you with Audrey all these years. She looks up to you so much, and she has so much of you in her. She is one tough little munchkin. I can’t wait to hang out with you this summer and the rest of forever, and I am so, so excited to see where life takes you. You’re one of my favorite people in the whole entire world. Kim, I can’t believe I’ve missed like your whole pregnancy. Rude. But I’m so glad I’ll get to be there to see your little baby boy right after he’s born (’cause ya girl wouldn’t be in the room even if you wanted me to be). You’re going to be an incredible mom, and I just can’t wait to see how it all plays out. I’ve missed you so so so so much while I’ve been gone. I can’t wait to hang out with you either. You’re another one of my favorite humans. To both of you, I am so lucky to have grown up to have two built in best friends. You guys have shared my entire life with me, and it’s strange to see things change so much, but I’m so excited and so proud to call you my sisters. I’m one blessed little sister.

Dear all of my friends who are moms/who feel like moms and best friends to me,

I know I’m not as close with all of you now as I have been at other points in my life. Don’t think for a second that you haven’t shaped who I am, because you have. I am blessed beyond belief to know so many great, strong women. You’re all so different, but you’re also all so incredible. For my friends around my age (*cough* Megan *cough*), I can’t wait to see you and your kids grow up. Being a parent doesn’t make you a grown up, so don’t become boring just yet. For my friends that are older than I am, you will always feel like second moms to me. But you will also always feel like some of my best friends. I guess because I’m close with my mom, I don’t see having second moms as a bad thing. I see them as more friends who just happen to have more life experience than I do. You all mean so much to me, and I can’t imagine the person I would be without even just one of you.

 

I’m lucky. Plain and simple. From my biological family to the family that I chose over the years to the family that chose me, I have been incredibly fortunate. So thank you all for being there. And shout out specifically to the Moms out there. You guys have a hard job. But I’m so grateful for everything you do. I hope you all feel celebrated today. You make the world go round. From me to you, keep on keepin’ on. Happy Mother’s Day. ❤

Leave a Reply

